windmill_image.jpg Lytham St Annes Road Runners Club
Founded in 1998
'Fitness, Friendship and Fun'


Lytham St Annes Road Runners Club (LSARRC) was founded in April 1998 by Bryan Grundy supported by his friend Rod Fisher. The inaugural meeting took place on 2nd. April. Bryan, an ex-county level runner, drew on his experience of membership of several running clubs including most notably his first in Darwen, to set up the Club with a view to regaining some of his former running ability. Early methods of attracting members were to approach anyone jogging around Lytham, Ansdell or St. Annes and hand out cards.

The Club's first home was at the Conservative Club, Hastings Place, Lytham. Lacking such facilities such as changing rooms or showers, it nevertheless regularly attracted a group of a dozen or more runners who then ran four or five miles together before settling into the Conservative Club bar and the atmosphere was friendly, sociable and informal.

Members recruited in the first months who remain active to today are Bryan himself (Chairman 1998 - 2004), Terry Hellings (Senior Coach), Joyce Grundy ( Treasurer 1998 - present), Derek Goodenough, Bill Lock (Secretary, Newsletter Editor & Race Director 1998 - 2004), Dawn Lock (Women's Captain 1998 - 2004), Ken Peters, Tim Gibson, (Club Champion 2001 - 2003), Paul Walsh (Chairman 2004 - present) and Doreen Walsh. Rt Hon Michael Jack MP agreed to be President.

On Sunday 22nd October 2000, the inaugrual Green Drive Five took place. 190 ran the original course which included a out-and-back spur into Boundary Road. Winner: Graham Hill (son of Ron Hill) in 25:40.  First Woman: International Pauline Powell in 28:14. Fifteen LSARRC runners competed including Club President and Fylde MP Michael Jack, 108th. in 37:34. First back for the home club was Colin Laidlaw, 17th. in 29:42.

Tuesday 4th January 2005 marked our first meeting in the newly refurbished YMCA, Mythop Road, Lytham.

The Club reached it's 10th anniversary in April 2008 - a magnificent achievment for a club that started so tentatively.

On the 19th March 2012, the Club's development reached another milestone when it was awarded Clubmark accreditation by England Athletics.